Poster Abstracts 2013 Conference

2013 Conference Poster Session Topics/Abstracts
All abstracts are in PDF format

Coming to the Table: Alabama        Food Policy Council [abstract]
Will Thomas, et al.
wct0006@auburn.edu

Auburn University
Auburn, AL

       
Development of an Economic Assessment        Tool for Southern Organic Apple Production [abstract]
H. German Rodriguez, et al.
jhpopp@uark.edu
University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR
       
Survey of Beginning Farmers of Kentucky        [abstract]
Lilian Brislen,        et al.
lilian.brislen@uky.edu
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY
       
Going Full Circle: Developing a Campus Community        Garden Linked to a Campus Food Pantry [abstract]
Emily Crossfield, et al.
heatherf@uark.edu
University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR
     
Carrot Improvement for Organic Agriculture        [abstract]

Phillip Simon
philipp.simon@ars.usda.gov

University of Wisconsin
Madison, WI

       
Farmstead Cheese Production: An Opportunity        for Small Scale Producers [abstract]
Ann Wilkinson
awilkinson@kc.rr.com
Origin Farms Consulting
Kansas City, MO
       
Sericea Lespedeza as an        Aid in the Control of Coccidiosis in Lambs [abstract]
Joan Burke, et al.
joan.burke@ars.usda.gov
USDA Agricultural Research Service
Dale Bumpers Small Farms Research Center
Booneville, AR
       
Community Building: Growing a Model Farm to School Program with Community Partnerships [abstract]
Heather Friedrich, et al.
heatherf@uark.edu
University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR
       
Organic Corn Variety Trial        in Kentucky, Ohio and Indiana [abstract]
Anthony Silvernail, et al.
anthony.silvernail@kysu.edu
Kentucky State University
Frankfort, KY
       
Cover Crops and Tillage        Practices; Third Year Impacts on Soil Characteristics and Sweetpotato Yield        in North Mississippi [abstract]
Jeff Main/Ramon Arancibia
jmain@ra.msstate.edu
Mississippi State University
MS State, MS




Cosechando éxito en la        granja: A New Online Educational Program for New Beginning Farmers        Available in Spanish [abstract]
Ixchel Reyes-Herrera, et al.
reyesh@uark.edu
University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR

       

Market Potential for Farm to School in Arkansas          [abstract]


Andrew Carberry, et al.
ANCarberry@uams.edu
University of Arkansas
for Medical Sciences
Little Rock, AR
       
Horticulture Education Abroad        for Agriculture Professionals and Students [abstract]
Mengmeng Gu/James Robbins
mgu@tamu.edu
Texas A&M AgriLife
Extension
College Station, TX
       
Mapping Sustainable Farm        Systems, Stage 1: Preliminary Findings from Beginning Farmer Listening Sessions        [abstract]
Lilian Brislen, et al.
lilian.brislen@uky.edu

University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY

       
Rebuilding the Mvskoke Food System through        Food and Fitness Policies, Sustainable Agriculture, Community Involvement,        and Education [abstract]
Stephanie Berryhill
sberryhill@mvskokefood.org

Mvskoke Food
Sovereignty Initiative
Okmulgee, OK

       
Missouri Northern Pecans: Defining Differentiation        [abstract]

Ann Wilkinson/Joe Wilson
awilkinson@kc.rr.com
Origin Farms Consulting
Kansas City, MO
       
Natural Compounds and Strategies        to Control Enteric Pathogens in Organic Poultry [abstract]
Annie M. Donoghue, et al.
annie.donoghue@ars.usda.gov
University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR
       
Resources of Risk Management in Direct        Marketing Venues [abstract]
Jennie Popp, et al.
jhpopp@uark.edu
University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR
       
Sankofa Health, Education, Agriculture,        and Leadership (HEAL) Project [abstract]
Rashida Ferdinand
rashida@sankofanola.org
Sankofa HEAL Project
New Orleans, LA
       
It's a SNAP! Reaching New Farmers' Market        Patrons with Community Collaboration [abstract]
Heather Friedrich, et al.
heatherf@uark.edu
University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR
       
Organic Production of Sunflowers in        High Tunnels [abstract]
Guihong Bi, et al.
Gb250@msstate.edu
Mississippi State University
MS State, MS
       
Assessing Sweet Potato Varieties        for Organic Production of Food and Biofuel in Kentucky [abstract]
Jon Cambron
jon.cambron@kysu.edu

Kentucky State University
Frankfort, KY

       
Trap Crops for Leaffooted Bug Management in        Tomatoes [abstract]


Ayanava Majumdar, et al.
bugdoctor@auburn.edu

Auburn University
Alabama Cooperative Extension Service
Auburn, AL

       
Northern Organic Vegetable Improvement Collaborative [abstract]
Jim Myers
myersja@hort.oregonstate.edu
Oregon State University
Corvallis, OR
       
Organic No-Till Vegetable Production Research at Auburn University [abstract]
Jan Garrett, et al.
garrecj@auburn.edu
Auburn University
Auburn, AL
       
Strategic Year-Round Vegetable Production Using High Tunnel Technology for Small Scale, Limited Resource Farmers [abstract]
Kurt Taylor, et al.
kotaylor@ncat.edu
North Carolina A&T State University
Cooperative Extension Program


       
Summer Cover Crop Screenings for Fall Vegetable        Production in the Gulf States [abstract]
William Evans, et al.
wbe1@ra.msstate.edu
Mississippi State University
MS State, MS
       
Veterans in Agriculture: Development        of an Integrated Educational Program for New Farmers and Ranchers [abstract]
Dan Donoghue, et al.
ddonogh@uark.edu
University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR
       
Small-Scale Roller/Crimper Designs for Walk-Behind        Tractors in Conservation Organic Farming Systems [abstract]
Ted Kornecki
ted.kornecki@ars.usda.gov

USDA Agricultural Research Service
National Soil Dynamics Laboratory
Auburn, AL

       
Market & Distillation Analysis of Sustainable        Wintergreen (Gaultheria fragrantissima) Production Essential        Oil in Dolhaka District of Nepal [abstract]
Jaime Thissen, et al.
This0013@umn.edu
University of Minnesota
Glencoe, MN
       
Connecting Women with Agriculture -        the 2012 Moms on the Farm Tour [abstract]
Jennie Popp, et al.
jhpopp@uark.edu
University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR
       
Youth Engaging in Agriculture: Cultivating        Successful Small-Scale Enterprises [abstract]
John Beck, et al.
jebeck@ncat.edu
North Carolina A & T State University
Cooperative Extension Program