Poster Abstracts, 2012 Conference

2012 Conference Poster Session Topics/Abstracts

All abstracts are in PDF format

Critical Barriers and Access to
USDA Disaster Relief Programs
for Socially Disadvantaged Producers During the 2011 Disaster Declaration
for 74 Oklahoma Counties [abstract]

 

Bryn Bird
bryn@ruralco.org

 

Rural Coalition
Washington, DC

Potential for High Tunnel
Blackberry, and Raspberry
Production for Season Extension
[abstract]

 

Dr. Curt Rom
crom@uark.edu

 

 

University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR

Economic Considerations of Producing
the Primocane-Fruiting Blackberry Cultivar Prime-Jan® in Northwest Arkansas [abstract]

 

Dr. Hector German Rodriguez
hrodrig@uark.edu

 

 

University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR

Bristly locust: Successful Establishment in an Emulated
Organic Silvopasture [abstract]

 

David Burner
David.Burner@ars.usda.gov

 

USDA-ARS
Dale Bumpers Small Farms Research Center
Booneville, AR

Cover Crops and Tillage Practices;
Second Year Impacts on Soil Characteristics and Sweetpotato Yield
in North Mississippi [abstract]

 

Jeff Main
jmain@ra.msstate.edu

 

Mississippi State University
Pontotoc, MS

Summer Cover Crops in Louisiana
for Fall Cabbage Production  [abstract]

Dr. Carl Motsenbocker
cmotsenbocker@agcenter.lsu.edu

 

 

LSU Ag Center
LA State University
Baton Rouge, LA

Marketing Local: Logos, Labels, and Location [abstract]

 

Dr. Gwendolyn Hustvedt
gwhust@txstate.edu

Texas State University
San Marcos, TX

 

How to Market Your Family Farm
Through Blogging & Social Media
[abstract] 

Sheree Martin
tamela.sheree.martin@
gmail.com

 

Samford University
Birmingham, AL

Microfueler™ Potential for on Farm, Sustainable, Biofuel Production at a
Small Scale [abstract]

 

Jon Cambron
jon.cambron@kysu.edu

Kentucky State University
Frankfort, KY

Creating an Online Learning
Community
for Beginning
Farmers [abstract]

 

Dr. Mary Hendrickson
KellyD@missouri.edu

Missouri Beginning Farmer Program - Columbia, MO

Development of an Online Training Course on Sustainable Livestock Production (poultry, sheep and goat), Agroforestry and Integrated Operations for Beginning Farmers [abstract]

 

Ixchel Reyes-Herrera
reyesh@uark.edu

 

 

University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR

Raspberry Interactive Budget:
A Tool for Development of
Sound Business Plans [abstract]

 

Dr. Hector German Rodriguez
hrodrig@uark.edu

 

 

University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR

Organic and Grass Fed Sheep
and Goat Production
in the
Southeastern US [abstract]

Dr. Joan Burke
joan.burke@ars.usda.gov

 

USDA-ARS
Dale Bumpers Small Farms Research Center
Booneville, AR

The Potential of Sorghum as
an Alternative Biofuel Feedstock
[abstract]

 

Anthony Silvernail
anthony.silvernail@kysu.edu

 

Kentucky State University
Frankfort, KY

Delivering Sustainable
Agriculture
Programs in Arkansas through the AR-SARE Model State Program
[abstract]

Dr. Elena Garcia
megarcia@uark.edu 

 

University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR

Transitioning from Conventional to Organic Production of Vegetables:
The role of Pest Management [abstract]

J.L. Fry
jlfry@ncat.edu

 

North Carolina A & T State University
Greensboro, NC

Effects of Plastic and Hay mulches on
Soil Temperature and Moisture in
Organic Heirloom Tomato
Production
[abstract]

Joni Thompson
joni.thompson@kysu.edu

 

Kentucky State University
Frankfort, KY